Narrative 1

 

I decided to take an opportunity and to take on the internship experience at JetBlue Airways as an Operations Intern. The internship site is located at corporation’s headquarter in Long Island City, New York, which is known also as Long Island City Support Centre (LSC). Conveniently for me, the internship site is located just minutes of walking distance from LaGuardia Community College.

One of the most important reason why I have decided to take on the opportunity for an internship at JetBlue, is the fact that I was looking for a company within the transportation, and since JetBlue is an airline, the expectation had been met. Also, having experience of working some part-time, non-office related jobs before, I wanted to try work in a professional setting, office-related job, and this time again, and the requirement had been met as well. The corporate life at this company can be experienced at different levels, since this particular location is a home to various departments and teams, which work closely and together on a daily basis.

To my workplace expectations I would include several different aspects. First of all, standards of conduct and performance- I would like to know what are their daily proceedings and ways of handling different issues, therefore, another expectation toward JetBlue is to get to know their internal dispute resolution process. Additionally, I would like to know their recruitment and hiring strategies and procedures, promotion and/or transfer opportunities, as well as I would like to learn about their volunteer, paid and unpaid intern policy guidelines.

Some of the tasks that I am assigned or involved with include addressing the issue of not enough manpower in a department; others include auditing past projects and assignments within the department. Additionally, I am auditing the accounts of business partners, how often (if ever) they login to their corporate accounts to read required manuals and/ or comply with them. There are also different assignment here and there involving Microsoft Office software, such as Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Visio and Project. Additionally I got to experience other programs widely used within the industry, such as Arbortext Editor, Sabre and Trax.

Leave a comment