Narrative 2

 

As my personal internship goals stated, this internship opportunity has helped me to experience the corporate life, and learn more about myself in a professional setting.

To start with the soft skills, I need to begin the statement that even though my work mostly consisted of working by the computer, but there still had been a significant amount of interpersonal communication involved. I have noticed, and at the same time implemented, that most of the communication between crewmembers is being done either by email, or the Microsoft Lync messenger. I do not and did not have any problems with communicating with people here, all you need to know about communicating with people not only inside the company but people in general, is to be polite, professional, and to thank them for everything.

Data analysis and some experience with the Microsoft Office along with the ability and willingness of learning and getting to know new software were helpful with getting into this company. Those particular skills are examples of hard skills, and the hard skills are quantifiable and teachable; they include specific knowledge and abilities required for a job.

Communication is the key factor in day-to-day operations here at JetBlue. It varies from basic talks with fellow crewmembers residing right next to, meeting with crew leaders, managers, cross-departmental meetings, phone-calls, never ending email and other online communication, usage of a corporate messenger, conference calls, as well as business related travels. All of that and more, require from each and every crewmember to have communication skills. What I have learnt so far, is that you need to ask questions, and if you do not find desired or clear answer, you should look for alternative sources, or ask those questions one more time.

So far, my experience with communication at my internship site was positive as well. The interrelations between the crew members, based on my observations, are being held in a positive way. Even though not always I may say that they are being held in a professional way, but I believe it is all right for people within the same department and team, working usually on the mutual assignments to have more comfortable relations. No conflicts have been noted, or at least people are good at keeping them to themselves. I observed many groups, usually cross-departmental on joining the same table at the lunch time, what I guess is a positive sign, since even on daily basis many departments and groups are involved in the same projects.

Leave a comment